u
 u  

Shem Vol.2
by Red Axes

Tel Aviv's Red Axes are back on I'm a Cliché for the second instalment in their ongoing SHEM series. On this EP, four tracks that take different directions to reach the duo's signature sound while expanding the horizons of their already impressive production abilities.

SHEM : With brilliant use of space and subtle melodic variations, this track is reminiscent both of cosmic music and of timeless film scores in the spirit of Ennio Morricone's work.

OH KEY : Guitars, live percussion, synths and keyboards, this track is a throwback to Red Axes' early sound. With a hazy, slightly narcotic atmosphere thanks to the dance-inducing rhythm section and swirling guitar melodies, this is a fine piece of underwater surf rock whose potential in a club context must not be underestimated.

SWEET JOHN GANG : On this track where familiar latin percussion sounds are presented in a new light, Red Axes' ability to create playful and catchy melodies layered on an understated groove, heavily treated guitar and frequency oscillating synths is compelling. A psychedelic cut tested and approved on the dance floor by several high profile DJs in the last few months.

MORE MORE AND MORE : The EP concludes with a track where a syncopated beat lets treated drums as well as slightly fuzzy bass line and synth stabs breathe through the mix. The result produces a fluid groove and much depth on this highly danceable track that seems to be Tel Aviv's response to The Hague's classic electro sound.

12" Vinyl

Play on
Spotify

Share with
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
mail

u
u

Shem Vol.2
par Red Axes

Red Axes est de retour sur I’m A Cliché pour le deuxième épisode de leur série SHEM. Sur cet EP, 4 tracks prennent des directions différentes menant toutes à la signature reconnaissable du duo tout en élargissant les horizons de leur qualité de production déjà impressionnante.

SHEM : Avec une brillante occupation de l’espace et de subtiles variations mélodiques, ce titre est la réminiscence d’une musique cosmique et autres musiques de film intemporelles dans l'esprit des productions d’Ennio Morricone.

OH KEY : Des guitares, des percussions live, des synthés et des claviers: ce titre est un retour aux tous premiers Red Axes. Grâce à une atmosphère brumeuse, légèrement stupéfiante, rendue possible par une section rythmique écrite pour faire danser et aux mélodies de guitare tourbillonnantes, on se trouve en face d’une bonne tranche de surf rock sous-marin dont le potentiel « club » ne doit cependant pas être sous-estimé.

SWEET JOHN GANG : Sur ce titre aux percussions latines présentées sous un nouveau jour, la capacité de Red Axes à coucher des mélodies entrainantes et fantaisistes sur un groove plus sobre et discret, des guitares lourdement filtrées et des synthés à oscillations, est tout simplement impressionnante. Un track largement testé et approuvé par plusieurs DJ de haut rang durant ces derniers mois.

MORE MORE AND MORE : L’EP se clôture avec un titre où les beats syncopés laissent respirer des percussions filtrées, des lignes de basses floues et des coups de synthés aiguisés tout au long du mix. Le résultat en est un groove fluide et bien profond sur ce track terriblement dansant, qui semble être la réponse de Tel Aviv au son électro si célèbre de La Haye.

Vinyle 12"

Ecouter sur
Spotify

Partager sur
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
mail